International and Introductions

Hello Yankees!

(Americans are generally called “Yankees” here as slang, whether they are from the north or not.)

Today I had several meetings to go to for International students.They were rather boring with information being explained that we had for the most part heard before, but it was nice to go and meet some new people.

(As a side note, I find it very odd that I am somehow International here. I do not mean this in the way that people might be assuming. To me, it is just crazy that in a country where they speak the same language as me, and we have several similar customs, I am an outsider in a way. I do not think I am being self-centered. But it does interest me that while I feel very similar to all the people I see here, even ones not from England, I am somehow considered different.)

We met two girls from Spain, who were very friendly. One had bright orange hair and said that the water here had changed it from red to orange. We also met two girls from France, two from Canada, a boy from Spain, a boy from China, a boy from Lebanon, a girl from South Korea, a boy from Tokyo, and a girl from Ohio. Austin and I also ended up talking to a boy and girl from Japan. They were all very friendly and excited to meet new people, which I can imagine as most of them probably came here by themselves.

Later, my flatmates and I went to the hall office for our flat to pick up bus passes for local transportation and met a girl from California as well as a girl from Suffix, England. We talked with them both for quite a while before deciding to head back to our dorms. Beth, the girl from England, exchanged numbers with us and we made plans to hang out tomorrow and to go shopping in town since she did not know where shops were and we needed some things anyways.

For dinner Austin made Crepes. They were suppose to be pancakes, but the mix for “pancakes” ended up being more like crepes. Apparently, real pancakes are called “Scotch Pancakes” and are sold pre-made in packages. Because of them coming from a mix I cannot really describe how to make them as all mixes will be different. We did, however, eat them with nutella, peanut butter, apple slices, and/or banana slices. They were really good!

I hope you all have a terrific time wherever you are!

“The traveller sees what he sees, the tourist sees what he has come to see.” -G.K. Chesterton

Post a Comment

