Jet Lag

Hello There!

A lot of experienced travelers will warn you about jet lag and how you can end up sleeping the day away, literally, if you are not careful. WebMD has come out with an article about how to avoid Jet Lag that is very informative. You can view it here. I remember one time I went overseas and our plan arrived at 8:00 AM, but no one had slept all night and everyone ended up sleeping on the bus at about 10:00 AM until almost dinner time when we got to the hotel, at which case no one could sleep that night.

The best way to try and combat Jet Lag is to actually sleep on the plane (if you are getting a Red-Eye Flight/through the night) or to, before you leave, try and adjust yourself to the other time zone. For instance I usually wake up at 8:00 AM, but that is 1:00 PM in England, so I have been slowly waking up earlier each morning to be better adjusted to their time zone. (Although, I am only getting up at 5:00 AM at the earliest here, which is 10:00 AM in the United Kingdom. I would have to get up at 3:00 AM to actually be getting up at my usual time there, but I think that is a little too much to ask.)

I am doing the same with when I go to sleep. Instead of going to bed at 11:00 PM (4:00 AM there), I am slowly going to bed earlier up until 8:00 PM here (1:00 AM there, again a 6:00 PM bed time is just too early for me). This will help me be better adjusted to the time zone there, so instead of jumping ahead five hours, it will only seem like three. But my earlier bed time will also help me be able to sleep on the plane since I will get tired faster, although I also plan on bringing some boring talk radio podcasts on my iPod to help tune out the plane and people on it.

I hope you found this informative about how to avoid Jet Lag! Have a great trip!

“The biggest adventure you can take is to live the life of your dreams.” -Oprah Winfrey

Post a Comment

