To Begin

Hello Again!

So, that first thing to think about when Studying Abroad or traveling, is where to go. This may sound simple, and probably is, but it is also important. For instance, although I will be studying in Oxford, England, there are other places I would like to travel and see while I am there, and there are places my friends would like to go as well, such as, Spain, Italy, London, Cardiff, Edinburgh, Dublin, etc. It is up to my friends and I to decide where we have time to go to and when we should go.

I, personally, am very excited about going to Spain since I took five years of Spanish in High School and the tickets to fly there will be much cheaper while already in the European Union, but I have to think about how I will get there, where to go while there, when I can go, and if my friends will be coming with me. Some things are much easier to do while alone, such as finding a single hotel room or getting one ticket to go somewhere, but it is usually more fun with friends (and occasionally cheaper if everyone pitches in).

These are all things you should think about before heading off on your amazing journey, although do not be afraid of moving away from the plan while overseas. Sometimes surprise adventures can come along, so if you are able to, try to be flexible and just have fun (although be sure to get all the important stuff in)!

Currently, I am still planning out when and where to go while abroad, but I have found something useful for people planning to be in the United Kingdom. It’s called a “BritRail Pass” and will let you travel around England, Scotland, Wales, North Ireland, and the Republic of Ireland on the railway system. You can also purchase one for the European Union. It can be either flexible (ex: any eight days during two months) or more rigid and have actual dates picked. It a great idea for fast and easy travel. You can check it out here.

I hope you all have safe travels!

“If you wish to travel far and fast, travel light. Take off all your envies, jealousies, unforgiveness, selfishness, and fears.” -Cesare Pavese

Post a Comment

